A report in 2015 by WalletHub, a social media company that probes government and financial matters, found Texas is more hands-off when it comes to reckless driving and speeding.
The WalletHub study found that Texas was the least strict of all 50 states and the District of Columbia in terms of passing laws against speeding and reckless driving, and punishing the violators.
A report in the Star-Telegram noted safety experts considered a wide range of criteria and created a point system to rank the states.
Texas was seen as more lax on reckless driving and speeding because it fails to define reckless driving in terms of miles-per-hour.
In this respect, Texas differs from southern states such as Arkansas and Louisiana where a driver traveling 15 mph over the posted speed limit is considered a reckless driver.
Texas was also seen as lagging behind other states because it:
The WalletHub survey found the possible penalties for speeding and reckless driving can be less in Texas.
In Texas, the minimum fine for a first or a second reckless driving offenses is $200.
Other states impose penalties of $500, $1,000 and even $5,000 in the case of Washington State.
In contrast, highways in Texas have some of the most liberal speed limits in the country. The study pointed out 85 mph is posted on Texas 130 between Austin and Seguin, while 80 mph is posted on hundred miles of Interstates 10 and 20 in western Texas.
However, many Texas cities have their own ordinances to crack down on speeders
Texas defines reckless driving as driving a vehicle with wilful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.
Notwithstanding this survey, we are well aware that Texas takes many driving offenses seriously and offenses like DWIs leave drivers facing the loss of their license.
Please call the Medlin Law Firm for a free consultation if you have been charged with a driving offense.