Well, it’s certainly possible. So DWIs start with Class B, misdemeanor level DWI, for which their possible punishment includes jail time up to 180 days in jail, a second time DWI, or a DWI over zero point 15 alcohol concentration. Those can carry up to a year in jail. Third-time DWI becomes a felony, and that can carry up to ten years in prison.
Now, for a first-time DWI with no particular aggravating factors like an accident or injury, it’s typical that the worst result is probation. But it’s also possible to get good results that don’t include a DWI on your record. So that’s something to shoot for in any first-time DWI.
In a second DWI, it may be possible to go to jail for up to a year, but it’s also possible to get probation without any jail time at all. Now, sometimes, if there’s an accident or it’s a second-time DWI, some judges may have a policy of requiring some amount of jail, maybe a weekend in jail, even as a condition of probation. But it’s also possible quite often to get a result that doesn’t include even that jail time as a condition of probation. So, yes, you can go to jail for a DWI in Texas, but also it’s possible to not go to jail for a DWI in Texas.
It’s possible to face different levels of punishment for DWIs in Texas. A first-time Class B misdemeanor DWI could lead to up to 180 days in jail, but probation is common. A second-time DWI or one with high alcohol concentration could mean up to a year in jail. A third-time DWI becomes a felony, with potential imprisonment of up to ten years. Good outcomes can avoid a DWI record. Even in a second DWI, probation might replace jail time. Jail time is possible, but avoiding it is also possible in Texas DWI cases.