Texas DWI Attorney
Dealing with a DWI can have a big impact on your life. In addition to the stress of dealing with court dates and trying to navigate the legal process, losing your driver’s license could pose a major challenge for you. Under certain circumstances, you could face steep fines or even a certain amount of jail time as well.
Working with a Fort Worth DWI attorney could help alleviate many of your concerns and worries. Whether representing you in plea negotiations or preparing you for trial, a Fort Worth defense attorney can make sure you receive full support every step of the way. You may not know where to go from here, but with an attorney by your side, you would not have to go through this difficult process alone, and you could know what to expect every step of the way.
DWI Laws in Fort Worth
The laws regarding driving while intoxicated are explained in Texas Penal Code §49.04. In Texas, it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated.
“Intoxicated,” according to Texas Penal Code §49.01 (2), means driving without the normal use of mental or physical faculties because of drugs or alcohol, or driving with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or more.
For a first DWI, an individual’s license may be suspended for 90 days to one year. For a second and third offense, the typical license suspension is 180 days to two years. Courts in Fort Worth also often impose DWI fines, which can range from $2,000 to $10,000 depending on the number of offenses and the facts of the case, so it is important to contact a Fort Worth DWI attorney as soon as possible.
DWI Charges – Felonies and Misdemeanor
Most DWI cases are classified as Class B misdemeanors and require a minimum of three days in jail. However, if an open container is also found in the vehicle, the minimum jail term is six days.
Having a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) of 0.15 percent or more while driving, is a Class A misdemeanor, which is a more serious offense. The penalties for multiple offenses are also more severe. Being convicted of a second DWI requires a minimum jail time of 30 days. Penalties can also be more severe if there is a child under the age of 15 in the vehicle. DWI with a minor in the car is punishable by between 180 days and two years in jail, as well as a fine of up to $10,000 which warrants the attention of a Fort Worth DWI attorney.
Penalties can also be more severe if a drunk driver causes an accident and injures someone.
Intoxication assault, injury to a person while drunk driving, is a third-degree felony punishable by a jail term of two to ten years and a fine of up to $10,000. If someone is killed during the incident, the driver can be charged with intoxication manslaughter, a second-degree felony punishable by a jail term of two to 20 years plus a maximum fine of $10,000.
Contact a Texas DWI Lawyer and Protect Your Rights
It is important to understand how the specific facts of your case may affect your outcome, either positively or negatively. There are many factors to consider, so it can be overwhelming to try to fight your case alone.
A Fort Worth DWI attorney could guide you through this process by conducting a thorough evaluation of your case and reviewing all of the evidence the state plans to present. If necessary, they could even conduct a full investigation and gather independent evidence and witnesses. Contact us today to schedule a consultation and get your case started.