What is the lowest level of felony in Texas? The lowest level of felony in Texas is what’s called a state jail felony offense. Now, state jail felony offense is punishable by 180 days up to two years in a state jail felony facility, and also a possible fine up to $10,000. Now, when we talk about felonies in Texas and talk about imprisonment, we usually talk about the penitentiary prison, which is different from jail. We’re usually talking about a county jail where misdemeanor punishments are served.
But the state jail felony facility is actually separate from the state prisons. So, it’s a facility where only people convicted of state jail felony offenses serve their time. So, the good news about that for people is that maybe they won’t be grouped with very violent criminals or people convicted of murder or serious crimes like that. But they still can serve their time in this facility.
Now, any time in a state jail felony facility is what we call day for day. What we mean by that is if they get 180 days in a state jail felony facility as their punishment. They’re going to serve 180 actual days. There’s no parole or early release. Like, if a person gets 25 years in prison, depending on what the offense is, they may get released in just a few years on parole, and serve the rest of their time in the community on parole-kind of like probation, but not actually in custody. But there’s no parole for a state jail felony offense. So, if they got two years in a state jail felony, they’d serve two actual years.
Now, probation is also a possibility for someone convicted of a state jail felony offense. They wouldn’t actually have to serve time in a state jail felony facility. They may be given a term of imprisonment. Say, one year in a state jail, but have that suspended and be placed on probation for a number of years. So that if they abide by terms and conditions of probation, they don’t actually have to serve the time in the state jail felony facility. So that’s the lowest level of felony offense in Texas, a state jail felony offense.
In Texas, a state jail offense is the lowest level of felony. It is punishable by 180 days to two years in a state jail felony facility and a possible fine of $10,000. This facility is separate from state prisons. It allows individuals convicted of state jail felony offenses to serve their time without being grouped with violent criminals or serious crimes.
Additionally, there is no parole or early release for state jail felony offenses, and probation is also possible for those convicted. If someone complies with probation terms, they don’t have to serve time in the facility.