The Long-Term Effect of a Texas Assault Charge
If you have been hit with a Texas assault charge, it can have long-term impacts on your life.
If you are charged with assault, you will face immediate consequences like potential jail time and a fine, depending on the seriousness of the charge. An assault charge can also have less obvious effects on your life.
The seriousness of those consequences depends on the level of the charge brought against you.
The impact of a Texas assault charge
Types of Assault Charge in Texas
- Class C Misdemeanor Assault: If you are physically touched in an offensive or provocative manner or threatened with harm in the absence of actual contact, the assault may be a Class C misdemeanor leading to fines of up to $500.
- Class B Misdemeanor Assault: This classification refers to sporting situations. However, it is not relevant to contact between players. It protects officials such as umpires and referees. It also protects players from angry fans. Even in the absence of contact, it can result in up to six months in prison and fines of up to $2,000.
- Class A Misdemeanor Assault: When an assault results in physical harm or if a threat is made to an elderly or disabled person, it’s a Class A misdemeanor even in the absence of injuries. A class A misdemeanor can carry penalties of up to one year in prison and a fine up to $4,000.
- Third-Degree Felony Assault: If the defendant caused physical harm to a public servant, family member, a partner on a date, a member of a household, a government contractor for family services like a social worker, a security officer or emergency services personnel, the assault can be a third-degree felony. This carries a maximum charge of $10,000 in fines and two to 10 years prison time.
- Second-Degree Felony Assault: This is typically used for aggravated assault, defined as an assault using or brandishing a deadly weapon or one that causes serious bodily harm. An assault on a family member or a dating partner is usually a second-degree felony. It also involves choking and lands defendants in prison for up to 20 years and paying a fine of up to $10,000.
- First-Degree Felony Assault: An aggravated assault against a public servant like a police officer, a security officer, a judge or a criminal witness can lead to a first-degree felony. This charge carries maximum penalties of $10,000 in fines and a potential life sentence.
As well as the formal consequences of an assault conviction, there can be other consequences on a defendant.
The long-term effects of an assault charge can impact the right of a defendant to own a handgun. A conviction for even a Class A misdemeanor assault can stop you from getting a handgun license in the future, even if the assault was not against a family member.
If you have been convicted of a felony level assault it will impact your ability to own a firearm, as well as your right to vote and ability to get a job or a license at a higher level.
If you have been charged with an assault crime, it’s important to fight it. There are some important defenses like self-defense. You can find out more about assault charges in Texas by reading our FAQs.
Contact attorney Gary Medlin in Fort Worth if you require powerful criminal representation.