Is theft a felony or a misdemeanor in Texas? Basically, it depends on the value or the amount of whatever was stolen. So, if something is a very low-level value, say under $100, then that’s a Class C ticket-level offense. It is punishable by a fine only up to a $500 fine.
If that value is $100 to $750 have the item or items stolen. So we mean there’s a bunch of different things that may add up to some value of more than $100 but less than $750, then that’s a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail.
If it’s $750 to $2500 in value, then that’s a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail. If it’s over $2500, then it’s a felony. So first, it’s a state jail felony-level offense punishable by up to two years in the State jail facility.
But if the values become enough or high enough, then it can be a third-degree, second-degree, or even first-degree felony-level offense. And those can be punishable by up to 10 years 20 years and up to life in prison.
In Texas, theft can be classified as a misdemeanor or felony depending on the value of the stolen items. On one hand, a Class C misdemeanor applies to items under $100. On the other hand, Class B is for values between $100 and $750. Lastly, a Class A is for values between $750 and $2,500.