How much jail time do you get for a gun in Texas? Well, if a person is charged with unlawfully carrying a weapon, that’s a class A misdemeanor for which you could get up to one year in jail. Now, a person can also carry a gun in Texas without a requirement of even a license to carry since open carry was passed in Texas.
But anytime a person is intoxicated, then the person no longer has the right to carry the weapon. And they could be charged with unlawfully carrying a weapon, a class A misdemeanor. Now, if a felon is charged, a person who has a felony conviction is charged with possessing a weapon. Then, that could be a felony level offense and carry up to 10 years in prison.
In Texas, if you are caught carrying a gun illegally, you could be jailed for a year. However, you can carry a gun openly without a license, except when you are drunk, which is also illegal.
If you are a felon with a weapon, it is a serious offense that can land you in prison for up to 10 years. So, the jail time depends on whether you have a criminal record and the circumstances of the gun possession.