Well, the good lawyer’s answer to this is, it depends. Sometimes people can be released with just a ticket and no bail at all required. So assault by contact or offensive contact is a Class C ticket-level offense in Texas, punishable by fine only.
So if a person could be detained and arrested even for assault, but then possibly only given a ticket, can be released without any requirement of bail or bond. Otherwise, a person could be charged with a Class A level assault, bodily injury, or assault on a family member, sometimes called domestic violence. The person may be required to post some type of bail. Bail can be anywhere from $500 to $1000 to $1500 and up, depending on the circumstances.
In Texas and Tarrant County particularly, you can be seen by a multitude of different possible magistrates or judges who can all decide on their own what level of bail to set. There’s a lot of variety in how much the bail may be in different cases. Sometimes, depending on some of the factors in the case, how severe the bodily injury is, or other factors that may make it worse than some other cases, the bail might be higher, but it’s usually around $500 or more.
It is also possible to be released on pretrial release where you’re just supervised by the Tarrant County Pretrial Release Agency or the pretrial release agency of another county. They just supervise your release on bond and make sure that you show up for court. They don’t require any type of payment other than maybe a small administrative fee of about $35 or so. Otherwise, bail could be $500, $1000, $1500, or more. Then you can give that amount of cash to the county.
The county holds that cash until the case is resolved and then you get that money back, minus a small fee of, again, around $35 or so. However, a person also may have the option of hiring a bond person to post their bond. So bonds, people who write bonds, bondsmen or bondswomen usually charge somewhere between ten and 20% of the face amount of the bond. So if the face amount of the bond is, say, $1500, they may charge one hundred and fifty dollars to three hundred dollars to write the bond for the person. Now, that’s a fee for their service, so you don’t get that back when the case is resolved.
But that way a person can pay less than the total amount of the bond and tie up less money to be able to get out of jail. But for many people, if they have the money, they prefer to post that full amount of cash bond so that they can get the money back when the case is over.
In Texas, the outcome of arrests varies. For minor offenses like assault by contact, a ticket suffices, and no bail is needed. More serious charges, like bodily injury or domestic violence, may require bail ranging from $500 to $1500. Magistrates decide to bail, leading to diverse amounts. Pretrial release, supervised by agencies, needs a small fee. A bond can be paid fully or via a bondsman (10-20% fee), refundable if the full amount’s posted.