Texas has a no-tolerance approach to drinking and driving. Yet this is tempered by a desire not to ruin young lives due to a single mistake, since Texas has such severe three-strikes-you’re-out laws regarding DUI. This has resulted in some interesting penalties if you’re under 21 and arrested for DWI. As underaged what happens if I am caught drinking and driving?
If you are under 21, you can be arrested for driving under the influence if you have any drugs or alcohol in your system. This means you could lose your license for a BAC of 0.1 though a 21-year-old only does so if it is 0.08 unless their driving posed a threat to the safety of others.
An underage DUI is a class C misdemeanor in Texas. You can be hit with a fine of 500 dollars, losing your license at least 60 days, and community service. There are mandatory alcohol awareness education classes. Some jurisdictions like Tarrant County have programs that expunge the DUI from your record if you complete all of the requirements, pay for additional education classes, and stay out of trouble.
If your blood alcohol level was over 0.08, then the fines can reach 2000 dollars, losing your license for up to a year, and up to six months in prison.
A repeat offense results in penalties similar to that of adults over 21. In fact, a second conviction within ten years of the first can lead to fines of 4000 dollars and a year in jail.