Parker County Domestic Violence Lawyer
Being charged with a domestic violence offense can be both unexpected and frightening. Even just being accused of domestic violence can have adverse consequences regardless of whether a conviction occurs. Employment and professional opportunities could be limited, and child custody could be affected, if relevant. You do not have to attempt to deal with the situation on your own. Contact a Parker County domestic violence lawyer who could review your case and help you fight for the best possible outcome.
A skilled defense attorney could guide you through each step of the process and fiercely advocate for your rights. Schedule an appointment to begin discussing potential legal options that may be effective for your domestic violence case.
Domestic Violence Laws in Parker County
In Parker County, laws regarding assault and domestic violence can be found under Sections 22.01, 25.11 and 71.004 of the Texas Penal and Family Codes. Section 22.01 pertains to assaultive offenses, section 25.11 covers continuous violence against the family, and section 71.004 defines family violence.
According to the Texas Family Code (section 71.004), family violence is defined as “an act by a member of a family or household against another member of the family or household that is intended to result in” any of the following:
- Physical harm
- Bodily injury
- Sexual assault
Threatening to harm a family member, member of the household, or romantic partner in any of the above ways, even if the threat was not actually carried out, may also be considered domestic violence in Parker County. Under Texas law, family members may include biological, step, adoptive, and foster children as well as current and former spouses, co-parents, and any other blood relative. Household members may include anyone residing in the home, even if unrelated. Romantic partners generally include anyone in an ongoing romantic relationship with the accused.
A person could be charged with the specific domestic violence offense of continuous violence against the family when that person allegedly caused or threatened to cause bodily injury to a family member or a member of the household at least two times within a 12 month period.
Legal Penalties for These Offenses
Depending on the nature and details of the domestic violence charges, the offense might be classified as either a Class A misdemeanor or a felony. If the offense is treated as a Class A misdemeanor, the legal penalty in Parker County may include a jail term of one year or less or a fine of $4,000 or less, or both.
If the domestic violence charges are for a second or third-degree felony, then the possible legal sanction may include a prison sentence of at least two years and a fine up to $10,000. The main difference in sentencing between second and third-degree felony convictions is that the maximum prison term for a third-degree felony is 10 years, while the maximum is 20 years for a second-degree felony conviction.
First-degree domestic violence felony convictions in Texas are generally associated with a minimum prison sentence of five years and a fine up to $10,000. It could be overwhelming trying to understand the different sections of the Texas penal code on assault, family violence, and continuous violence against the family and what it all means with regard to the domestic violence charges a person may be facing but a Parker County domestic violence lawyer could help.
Call a Parker County Domestic Violence Attorney
A skilled defense attorney could serve as a valuable asset. A Parker County domestic violence lawyer could go over the charges with you, explain the possible legal penalties, and potentially develop an individualized defense to help you achieve the best possible outcome.
Additionally, they could work to help you navigate the often-confusing legal system and aggressively advocate for your rights. Call today to set up an appointment for a consultation to learn more.