Tarrant County Reckless Driving Lawyer
Reckless driving charges can result from several behaviors while operating a motor vehicle, including going a certain speed over the speed limit, driving while intoxicated, texting while driving, drag racing, or causing a car accident. According to Texas Transportation Code section 545.401, reckless driving charges may occur whenever a driver shows wanton or willful disregard for personal property and/or the safety of other people.
Mistakes happen, but the penalties associated with a reckless driving offense can be long-lasting and expensive. A seasoned criminal attorney knows how to defend individuals facing driving charges and can work hard to yield the best possible outcome for each unique case. Do not hesitate to get in touch with a Tarrant County reckless driving lawyer today.
Consequences of Reckless Driving Offenses
Reckless driving is more than just a simple traffic citation. It is often categorized as a misdemeanor that may carry several harsh penalties:
- Jail time of up to 30 days
- Fines of up to $200
- Two to three points applied to the driver’s license depending upon whether the driver was in an accident at the time of the offense
- License suspension for 30 days
- Paying for the costs involved in reinstating the suspended license plus the required addition of SR-22 insurance coverage
Reckless driving is typically classified as a misdemeanor but can be increased in severity to a felony if someone suffers an injury or dies as a result. The circumstances of every reckless driving case are unique, and a Tarrant County reckless driving lawyer can create a defense strategy based on the specific facts of the case.
If someone has four or more transportation-related offenses over the span of one year or, seven or more transportation-related offenses over the span of two years, they may earn the classification of habitual violator, according to section 521.292(a)(3) of the Texas Transportation Code.
Habitual violators may face surcharges for every point on their driving record once they hit six points in total. If the individual is unable to pay the surcharges within 105 days, they may have their license suspended. Further, points on a license may last for three years at a time, and therefore can be amassed relatively quickly.
Fighting for the rights of habitual violators may be more complicated and therefore may require the legal representation of a knowledgeable Tarrant County reckless driving lawyer.
Consulting a Tarrant County Reckless Driving Attorney
If you or are facing reckless driving charges, you also may face having to pay thousands of dollars in increased insurance premiums, fines, and license reinstating. You may also face license suspension. Therefore, it may be important to contact an assertive Tarrant County reckless driving lawyer as soon as possible.
Whether you were pulled over for weaving in and out of a traffic lane or for driving under the influence, a lawyer can proactively build a thorough defense to help protect your rights and can provide the experienced legal representation you may want and need on your side throughout this process. Call today to set up a free consultation.
(682) 204-4066 We cannot receive pictures via text so please send those via email or hand deliver to our office.
(682) 204-4066 No podemos recibir imágenes por mensaje de texto, así que envíelas por correo electrónico o entréguelas personalmente en nuestra oficina.