If you have been convicted of a first time DWI in Texas and are on probation, you will be required to attend and complete an educational program that’s certified by the state.
The requirement is set out in Article 42.12, Section 13 (h) of the Code of Criminal Procedure.
It’s important to attend and complete these programs, or you stand to lose your driver’s license. Your license won’t be reinstated until the educational program is completed, according to Texas Department of State Health Services.
The educational programs are about 12 hours long. They are set up to help DWI offenders gain more knowledge about alcohol and drug use and how it relates to driving. The courses aim to minimize re-offending.
The department lists specific topics as follows:
1 Familiarity with Texas DWI laws;
2 Drug and alcohol and traffic safety problems;
3 Chemical dependency and its impacts;
4 The symptoms of dependency;
5 Sources of dependency;
6 The costs of a DWI to the offender.
A 12-hour class typically cost just under $200. Some classes can be completed online.
A Fort Worth DWI lawyer can help negotiate a lesser sentence like an educational course or probation in lieu of jail time or a heavy fine.
These kinds of options are always preferable to incarceration. It’s well know that conditions in Texas’ jails are unbearable and sometimes hazardous.
The Washington Times recently made reference to a lawsuit that contends as many as 13 inmates have perished due to heat-related deaths in Texas prisons over the last 10 years.
The judge overseeing the case has demanded prison officials reveal how many inmates have lost their lives since 1990 due to excess heat in state prisons.
Out of the 109 prison facilities in Texas, a mere 30 have air conditioning in all areas where inmates are housed.
A lawyer representing more than 1,400 mostly elderly and disabled inmates claims the prison terms given out to people guilty of fraud or DWIs have turned out to be death sentences.
An experienced Fort Worth DWI attorney will help you if you are charged with drunk driving. See our credentials here, or call (682) 204-4066.