Tarrant County Aggravated Assault Lawyer
In Texas, aggravated assault can be charged when someone intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes serious bodily injury to another, uses or displays a deadly weapon when committing an assault crime, or exhibits conduct the other person finds offensive. Aggravated assault is a felony and carries harsh penalties following a conviction. Therefore, it is essential that if you have been charged to seek the services of a Tarrant County aggravated assault lawyer right away. Call today to schedule a consultation with a seasoned assault attorney.
Role of Knowledge and Intent
Knowledge of and the intent to cause bodily injury, or exhibiting a deadly weapon, is required in an aggravated assault offense. A different charge may apply if someone recklessly uses a weapon. For example, there is a shouting match and someone pulls out their gun and shoots into the ground. The prosecutors might charge the individual with aggravated assault towards the people they were shouting at because they brought out their weapon. If the shouting frightens someone nearby, that might mean a deadly conduct charge. The difference is the individual’s intention and what were they knowingly doing at the time.
Defining Serious Bodily Injury
A serious bodily injury is broadly defined as a bodily injury that creates a risk of or causes death, serious permanent disfigurement, or an extended impairment of the function of a body part or organ. Examples of a serious bodily injury are the loss of an eye or a broken neck.
There is a fine line between bodily injury and a serious bodily injury. Assessment of the bodily injury is one element of the charge that is considered. The use of a weapon might indicate the intention to cause serious bodily injury. For more information about what constitutes a bodily injury, consult one of our Tarrant County aggravated assault lawyers.
Penalties for Aggravated Assault in Tarrant County
In Texas, an aggravated assault is usually charged as a second-degree felony. The penalties for a second-degree felony are two to 20 years in the penitentiary and up to a $10,000 fine. When someone is convicted of a felony, there are collateral consequences involved. If someone is convicted of a felony, they may have trouble finding employment, borrowing money from the bank, and legally owning a firearm. Due to the serious penalties that aggravated assault carry, it is essential for someone facing charges to reach out to an aggravated assault attorney in Tarrant County as soon as possible.
Assault With a Deadly Weapon
According to Texas law, a deadly weapon is a firearm or some other weapon made to inflict serious bodily injury or death. A deadly weapon can be anything that, in the manner of its use or intended use, can cause death or serious bodily injury. Sometimes a person is charged for using a deadly weapon when the individual uses just hands or perhaps their vehicle if they were driving at the time. Other examples of a deadly weapon may be a baseball bat, brick, or a pencil.
An assault with a deadly weapon can result in a first-degree felony charge. The most common assault with a deadly weapon case in Tarrant County is when someone using a gun or knife.
How a Tarrant County Aggravated Assault Attorney Could Help
Aggravated assault is a serious charge, therefore, you may want to obtain an accomplished criminal defense attorney if you are facing charges. A Tarrant County aggravated assault lawyer could stand by your side and advocate on your behalf throughout the legal process. A seasoned legal professional will be experienced in these types of cases and will work tirelessly to build a defense for you. Do not face these charges alone. Call today to schedule a consultation.
(682) 204-4066 We cannot receive pictures via text so please send those via email or hand deliver to our office.
(682) 204-4066 No podemos recibir imágenes por mensaje de texto, así que envíelas por correo electrónico o entréguelas personalmente en nuestra oficina.