The Medlin Law Firm

Personalized Protection Against Theft Charges


All forms of stealing are considered theft, all with varying degrees of penalties, but all can be very damaging to your life no matter how minor you may think the offense may be. A conviction could cause the loss of your job, difficulty finding future employment, a tarnished reputation in the community, and may prevent you from obtaining a professional license that is required to operate as a skilled professional, such as an accounting license. Those scenarios deserve the defense of an experienced criminal attorney like those at the Medlin Law Firm.

Even in cases where the evidence appears to be solid and beyond argument, clients come to the Medlin Law Firm for theft defense. We have proven our ability to achieve favorable results even in the most challenging cases. Our expertise in theft defense ranges through all of the following:

  • Theft of service
  • Theft of property
  • Issuing bad checks
  • Shoplifting, retail theft and petty theft
  • Automobile theft, carjacking
  • Burglary (stealing from a home or building, breaking and entering)
  • Robbery (stealing from a person)
  • Credit card theft
  • Bounced checks
  • Embezzlement (theft by an employee or business representative)
  • Forgery and Identity Theft (the use of someone else’s signature or identity)
  • Receiving stolen property
  • And more

What are the Punishments for Theft Charges in Texas?

A theft crime can involve violent acts such as assault or attempted murder. If performed by a minor, theft can be a juvenile crime. These associated issues affect the nature of the charges and the severity of the punishments that go along with an indictment.

Misdemeanor Theft in Texas

  • Class A Burglary of a vehicle; Theft of $500 or more
    Punishment: up to 1 year in county jail and/or a fine up to $4,000
  • Class B Theft of $50 or more
    Punishment: up to 180 days in county jail and/or a fine up to $2,000
  • Class C Theft of less than $50
    Punishment: fine only, not to exceed $500

Felony Theft

  • First Degree Aggravated Robbery, Burglary of a Habitation (intent to commit felony other than felony theft); theft of $200,000 or more
    Punishment: 5 to 99 years or life imprisonment, may also be fined up to $10,000
  • Second Degree Robbery; Burglary of a Habitation; Theft of $100,000 or more but less than $200,000
    Punishment: 2 to 20 years imprisonment, may also be fined up to $10,000
  • Third Degree Theft of $20,000 or more but less than $100,000
    Punishment: 2 to 10 years imprisonment, may also be fined up to $10,000
  • State Jail Burglary of a building; Theft if $1,500 or more but less than $20,000; Forgery (check or credit card); Identity Theft (if the number of items possessed is less than 5)
    Punishment: 180 days to 2 years in state jail, may also be fined up to $10,000; or court may impose Class A misdemeanor punishment.
Attorney Gary Medlin Criminal Defense Attorney

Get your questions answered - call me for your free, 20 min phone consultation (817) 422-0589

Related Articles

Related Topics